The main building of the Buxtehude Museum is temporarily closed due to remodelling. Despite construction repair and restoration work, the older building with the Museum of Local History is opened on the weekend. The picturesque half-timbered buildings from 1913 houses a wonderful exhibit of items of urban and rural living. A good insight into the old master craftsmanship of the shoemaker, silversmith and painter is provided by the lovingly collected tools exhibited on the upper floor.
Those who would like to learn more about the famous fairy tale of the race between the hare and the hedgehog on the small heath at Buxtehude should of course also look in. The small exchange library on the Stavenort which belonging to the museum attracts many reading enthusiasts and is open daily around the clock.
Sa + So 11-17
Adult: €2, reduced: €1
Free for children and adolescents up to 18 years
Phone: +49 4161 - 5012333